NGC 4038/9, Antennae Galaxies

Object Description

NGC 4038/9
NGC 4038/9: Image of the galaxies in blue light; © François Schweizer [116]

The galaxy pair NGC 4038 and NGC 4039 is also known as the Ringtail Galaxy or Caldwell 60/61. When it was first discovered, astronomers were amazed at its unusual shape. At first it was not clear whether this was a single galaxy or two. However, computer simulations have now shown that these are two colliding galaxies.

In short exposure photographs, the brightest regions of the central areas resemble a reflected question mark or curly tail - an irregular arc about two arc minutes long (see Fig. 2). The curved northern rim of the arc (NGC 4038) is the brightest sub-area and consists of several bright and dark spots from star clusters and dark clouds. The southern extension was numbered NGC 4039 by Dreyer. It is fainter but has roughly the same appearance.

However, long-exposure images reveal more enigmatic structures, giving the pair of galaxies an even more spectacular shape. The two bright central regions merge into two elliptical clumps that appear glued together on their eastern side. From there, two long, curved filaments extend, which reach far out into space (cf. Fig. 1). The more northerly can be traced for about five minutes of arc, the more southerly for more than ten. These two filaments resemble the long feelers of a beetle, hence the second nickname Antennae.

NGC 4038/9
NGC 4038/9: Detail of the two core regions with the 4m AAT; © 1991 David Malin [156]

The two filaments emit strong radio radiation, which was discovered in 1957. The well-known astronomer Fritz Zwicky showed that the tidal forces of two colliding galaxies stimulate new star formation. Indeed, a nebulous region has been spotted at the end of NGC 4039's southern filament, which appears to be a young protogalaxy. Recently formed massive stars excite the surrounding gas from which they were formed to glow.

The remaining, relatively undisturbed regions of the two galaxies (Fig. 2 below) show only subtle color differences, suggesting that the two were galaxies before their collision of the type S0 and not spiral galaxies. S0 galaxies are disc-shaped, relatively gas-poor galaxies whose color is slightly yellower than that of the spiral galaxies. This could explain why star formation occurs mainly in one of the two galaxies - where the gas is.

In the central regions of the two colliding galaxies, young star clusters were found with the help of the (then still uncorrected) Hubble Space Telescope, which should not be older than 10 million years. It is not yet clear whether they are open or globular clusters, but their mean radius of about 60 light-years is comparable to that of typical globular clusters in the Milky Way. Most form dense groups of about a dozen in the large H II region in which they were formed. [4, 112, 116]

According to LEDA [134], the two galaxies are moving away from the center of the local group at a speed of about 1400 km/s, which at a Hubble constant of 75 km/s/Mpc is one distance of about 60 million light years. NGC 4038's spin axis is tilted at about 65° to our viewing direction, and NGC 4039's at about 71°.

«Catalogue of Principal Galaxies (PGC)», Paturel et al. 1989 [144]
NameRA [hms]Dec [dms]mTypeDim [']Btot [mag]HRV [km/s]PA [°]
NGC 403812 01 52.8-18 51 54SB M3.4 x 2.010.9162780
NGC 403912 01 53.8-18 53 06SB M3.3 x 1.711.01655130

How to find NGC 4038/9

West of the diamond of the constellation Corvus, about one degree below halfway from Gienah (γ Corvi , 2.6mag) to ζ Crateris (4.9mag), lies the colliding galaxy pair NGC 4038/9. Since the two galaxies are quite faint, it is best to use an eyepiece with medium magnification.

Chart NGC 4038/9
Chart created using SkySafari 6 Pro and STScI Digitized Sky Survey. [149, 160]

Visual Observation

NGC 4038/9
NGC 4038/9: Pencil drawing; 14" PWO-Dobson f/4.6, TV-Radian 8 mm, 200x, 0.3°, D: 6.3, air: medium-calm; Honegg 1460 m; © 24. 4. 2003, 00:30 Eduard von Bergen

350 mm aperture: Both cores appear very pronounced in the 14-incher. The northern galaxy NGC 4038 appears brighter and larger. The slightly fainter galactic core of NGC 4039 connects almost seamlessly to the south. In photos and with imagination on the sketch, the two galaxies are reminiscent of a fetus. The antennas on both galaxies are not visually accessible with amateur telescopes. [192]

14" PWO-Dobson, F:4.6 / TV-Radian 8mm, 200x, 0.3°
Eduard von Bergen

NGC 4038/39
NGC 4038/39: EAA, roughly represents visual impression; Slipstream 30" f/3.3 Dobson + MallinCam video camera; ca 3s; Hasliberg; © 14. 3. 2012 Eduard von Bergen

762 mm aperture: The visual impression can be roughly reproduced with a MallinCam video camera and an integration time of around three seconds. A tracking 30 inch f/3.3 SlipStream Dobsonian was used. The resulting image comes very close to visual vision with a 13 mm Tele Vue Ethos eyepiece.

— 14. 3. 2012, Eduard von Bergen

References

4«Burnham's Celestial Handbook: An Observer's Guide to the Universe Beyond the Solar System» by Robert Burnham; Dover Publications, Inc.; Voume I: ISBN 0-486-23567-X; Volume II: ISBN 0-486-23568-8; Volume III: ISBN 0-486-23673-0
112Images: NGC 4038/39 by David Malin; S&T 12/94, p.42
116Young Star Clusters Found by HST in the 'Antennae'; S&T 6/95, p.12
134Lyon-Meudon Extragalactic Database (LEDA); leda.univ-lyon1.fr
144Catalogue of Principal Galaxies (PGC); Paturel G., Fouque P., Bottinelli L., Gouguenheim L.; Astron. Astrophys. Suppl. Ser. 80, 299 (1989); cdsarc.unistra.fr/viz-bin/cat/VII/119 (2021-02-18)
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
156Photographs from the Anglo-Australian Observatory; aao.gov.au/images.html
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
192Deep-Sky Guide; fernrohr.ch/1d_deep-sky-guide.html (2020-12-25)

NGC 4038/9, Antennen-Galaxien

Objektbeschreibung

NGC 4038 / NGC 4039
Aufnahme der Galaxien im blauen Licht; © François Schweizer [116]

Das Galaxienpaar NGC 4038 und NGC 4039 ist auch unter dem Namen Ringelschwanz-Galaxie (Ringtail Galaxy) oder Caldwell 60/61 bekannt. Als es erstmals entdeckt wurde, waren die Astronomen sehr erstaunt über dessen ungewöhnliche Form. Zunächst war gar nicht klar, ob es sich dabei um eine einzige oder zwei Galaxien handelt. Mittels Computersimulationen konnte nun aber gezeigt werden, daß es sich dabei um zwei kollidierende Galaxien handelt.

Auf kurz belichteten Fotografien ähneln die hellsten Regionen der Zentralbereiche einem gespiegelten Fragezeichen oder einem Ringelschwänzchen - einem irregulären Bogen von etwa zwei Bogenminuten Länge (vgl. Abb. 2). Der gebogene nördliche Rand des Bogens (NGC 4038) ist das hellste Teilgebiet und besteht aus mehreren hellen und dunklen Flecken von Sternhaufen und Dunkelwolken. Der Ausläufer nach Süden erhielt von Dreyer die Nummer NGC 4039. Er ist schwächer, besitzt aber in etwa dasselbe Aussehen.

Lang belichtete Aufnahmen enthüllen jedoch weitere rätselhafte Strukturen, welche dem Galaxienpaar eine noch spektakulärere Form verleihen. Die beiden hellen Zentralregionen verschmelzen zu zwei elliptischen Klumpen, welche an ihrerm östlichen Seite zusammengeklebt erscheinen. Von dort aus erstrecken sich zwei lange, gebogene Filamente, welche sehr weit in den Raum hinaus reichen (vgl. Abb. 1). Das nördlichere kann etwa fünf Bogenminuten lang verfolgt werden, das südlichere mehr als deren zehn. Diese beiden Filamente gleichen den langen Fühlern eines Käfers, daher der zweite Spitzname Antennae.

NGC 4038/4039
Detailaufnahme der beiden Kernregionen mit dem 4m AAT; © 1991 David Malin [156]

Von den beiden Filamenten geht eine starke Radiostrahlung aus, welche 1957 entdeckt wurde. Der bekannte Astronom Fritz Zwicky zeigte, daß die Gezeitenkräfte zweier kollidierender Galaxien zu neuer Sternbildung anregt. Tatsächlich wurde am Ende des südlichen Filaments von NGC 4039 eine neblige Region entdeckt, welche allem Anschein nach eine junge Protogalaxie zu sein scheint. Kürzlich gebildete massive Sterne regen das umgebende Gas zum leuchten an, aus welchem sie gebildet wurden.

Die verbliebenen, relativ ungestörten Regionen der beiden Galaxien (Abb. 2 unten) zeigen nur geringe Farbunterschiede, welche nahelegen, daß es sich bei den beiden vor ihrer Kollision um Galaxien des Typs S0 und nicht um Spiralgalaxien gehandelt haben muß. S0-Galaxien sind scheibenförmige, relativ gasarme Galaxien, deren Farbe im Mittel etwas gelblicher als die der Spiralgalaxien ist. Dies könnte erklären, warum die Sternbildung hauptsächlich in der einen der beiden Galaxien stattfindet - dort wo das Gas ist.

In den Zentralregionen der beiden kollidierenden Galaxien wurden mit Hilfe des (damals noch unkorrigierten) Hubble Space Telescopes junge Sternhaufen gefunden, welche nicht älter als 10 Mio. Jahre sein dürften. Es ist noch nicht geklärt, ob es sich dabei um offene oder Kugelsternhaufen handelt, doch ihr mittlerer Radius von etwa 60 Lichtjahren ist mit dem von typischen Kugelsternhaufen der Milchstraße vergleichbar. Die meisten bilden dichte Gruppen von etwa einem Dutzend in der großen H II Region in welcher sie gebildet wurden. [4,112,116]

Laut LEDA [134] bewegen sich die beiden Galaxien sich mit einer Geschwindigkeit von etwa 1400 km/s vom Zentrum der lokalen Gruppe weg, was bei einer Hubble-Konstanten von 75 km/s/Mpc einer Entfernung von etwa 60 Mio. Lichtjahren entspricht. Die Rotationsachse von NGC 4038 ist etwa 65° zu unserer Blickrichtung geneigt, die von NGC 4039 etwa um 71°.

Koordinaten in J2000.0; HRV = Heliozentrische Radialgeschwindigkeit; PA = Positionswinkel; "Catalogue of Principal Galaxies (PGC)", Paturel et al. 1989 [144]
NamenRA
[hms]
Dec
[dms]
Morph
Typ
Dim
[']
Btot
[mag]
HRV
[km/s]
PA
[°]
NGC 403812 01 52.8-18 51 54SB M3.4 x 2.010.91627 80
NGC 403912 01 53.8-18 53 06SB M3.3 x 1.711.01655 130

Auffindtipp für NGC 4038/9

Auffindkarte
Auffindkarte mit Hilfe von TheSky 2.11 [129] und GIMP [132] erstellt.

Westlich von der Raute des Sternbildes Corvus, etwa ein Grad unterhalb der halben Strecke von Gienah (γ Corvi, 2.6mag) zu ζ Crateris (4.9mag), liegt das kollidierende Galaxienpaar NGC 4038/9. Da die beiden Galaxien recht lichtschwach sind, wird zum Auffinden am besten ein Okular mittlerer Vergrösserung gewählt.

Beobachtung

Bleistiftskizze von Eduard von Bergen, 2003 [192]

Im 14-Zöller erscheinen beide Kerne sehr ausgeprägt. Die nördliche Galaxie NGC4038 gibt sich heller und grösser. Südlich und fast nahtlos schliesst der etwas schwächere Galaxienkern von NGC4039 an. Auf Fotos und mit Fantasie auf der Skizze erinnern die beiden Galaxien an einen Fötus. Die Antennen bei beiden Galaxien sind visuell mit den Amateurteleskopen nicht zugänglich. [192]

14" PWO-Dobson, F:4.6 / TV-Radian 8mm, 200x, 0.3°
Eduard von Bergen

Creative Commons License Sofern keine anderen Quellen, Autoren oder Fotografen genannt werden, unterliegt diese Webseite der Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.