NGC 3242, Ghost of Jupiter

Object Description

NGC 3242
NGC 3242: CCD image with the 2.1m reflector of the Kitt Peak National Observatory

This nebula was discovered on February 7, 1785 by the german-british astronomer William Herschel using his selfmade 18.7 inch reflecting telescope and cataloged as IV 27. [463] NGC 3242 is one of the brightest planetary nebulae. It was nicknamed «Ghost of Jupiter» because the 30 to 40 arc second, not quite circular disc resembles a ghostly image of Jupiter in small telescopes.

NGC 3242
NGC 3242: Composite image with HST, Bruce Balick, University of Washington.

Even in medium-sized amateur telescopes, an elliptical ring structure can be seen, surrounded by a fainter halo (see drawing below). This is also supported by the classification according to Vorontsov-Velyaminov (IV+IIIb = ring structure + irregular disk with traces of a ring structure).

The halo is the shed shell of the red giant, the progenitor star, which is excited to glow by the strong UV radiation from the central star. The gas appears bluish-green to us visually because the main emission comes from doubly ionized oxygen (O III), whose strongest emission line is at 5007 angstroms. Two causes are held responsible for the elliptical ring structure:

NGC 3242
NGC 3242: Ghost of Jupiter in Hydra; 500/2500 mm Newton + SBIG ST-6; Observatory Bülach; © 8. 2. 1997 Stefan Meister
  1. The interaction of the wind of the central star with the stellar wind of the progenitor: When the fast wind of the central star meets the slower wind of the progenitor, a shock front is created. Matter located there is excited and emits light. The area therefore appears brighter to us than the surroundings.
  2. Model calculations showed that the conspicuous axial symmetry of the ring structure was caused by a brown dwarf moving closely around the central star about 4000 years ago.

Recent observations with the Hubble Space Telescope (HST) show extremely fine structures in the nebula that cannot yet be well explained with previous models. Such structures have also been observed in other planetary nebulae such as NGC 7662.

— 1996, Philipp Reza Heck

«Strasbourg-ESO Catalogue of Galactic Planetary Nebulae» Acker et al., 1992 [141]
DesignationsPN G261.0+32.0: NGC 3242, PK 261+32.1, ARO 4, ESO 568-05, VV 57, VV' 98
Right Ascension (J2000.0)10h 24m 46s
Declination (J2000.0)-18° 38' 38"
Dimensions 25." (optical)
Distance 0.76 kpc
Radial Velocity+4.6 km/s ± 0.6 km/s
Expansion Velocity 20. km/s (O-III), 27.5 km/s (N-II)
C-Star DesignationsAG82 127, BD -17 3140, GC 14298, GCRV 6542, HD 90255, NSV 4848, PLX 2442, SAO 155965, TD1 14821
C-Star Magnitude12.02 mag (B filter), 12.31 mag (V filter)
C-Star Spectral TypeO(H)
DiscovererHERSCHEL 1785

How to find the Ghost?

Jupiter's ghost is in the constellation Hydra. The best way to find it is to start from the star μ Hydrae, because the PN is 1.8 degrees south of it. With an apparent magnitude of 3.8, this red giant star is visible to the naked eye. If you use a low-power, wide-field eyepiece to locate, the small, greenish disc of NGC 3242 should already be visible. The best viewing time is February to April.

Chart NGC 3242
Chart created using SkySafari 6 Pro and STScI Digitized Sky Survey. [149, 160]

Visual Observation

NGC 3242
NGC 3242: Zeichnung; 200mm SCT, 290x; © 1996 Philipp Reza Heck

200 mm aperture: With a declination of -18.6 degrees, Jupiter's ghost is relatively low. In order to observe it under optimal conditions, one should wait for the passage of the meridian. The surface brightness of NGC 3242 is very large. It is therefore worth enlarging over 200x. The view in the 20 cm telescope at 290x (7 mm Nagler) is breathtaking. The elliptical ring structure mentioned in the description, which is reminiscent of a human eye, is clearly visible in the 20 cm reflector. The ellipse appears brighter at the SE end (see author's drawing). As with planetary observation, the Ghost of Jupiter benefits from observing for as long as possible. The chance of discerning fine details during short moments of extreme calm increases with the observation time. In my opinion, NGC 3242 is not only one of the most interesting planetary nebulae, but also one of the easiest to observe.

— 1996, Philipp Reza Heck

References

141Strasbourg-ESO Catalogue of Galactic Planetary Nebulae; A. Acker, F. Ochsenbein, B. Stenholm, R. Tylenda, J. Marcout, C. Schohn; European Southern Observatory; ISBN 3-923524-41-2 (1992); cdsarc.unistra.fr/viz-bin/cat/V/84 (2021-02-18)
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
463«Catalogue of one thousand new nebulae and clusters of stars» William Herschel, Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society of London, 1 January 1786; DOI:10.1098/rstl.1786.0027

NGC 3242, Jupiters Geist

Objektbeschreibung

NGC 3242
NGC 3242: CCD-Aufnahme mit dem 2.1m Reflektor des Kitt Peak National Observatory

Dieser Nebel wurde am 7. Februar 1785 vom deutsch-britischen Astronomen Wilhelm Herschel mit seinem selbstgebauten 18.7 Zoll Spiegelteleskop entdeckt und als IV 27 katalogisiert. [463] NGC 3242 ist einer der hellsten planetarischen Nebel. Den Übernamen Ghost of Jupiter hat er erhalten, da die 30 bis 40 Bogensekunden grosse, nicht ganz kreisförmige Scheibe in kleinen Teleskopen einem geisterhaften Abbild Jupiters gleicht.

NGC 3242
NGC 3242: Kompositbild mit dem HST, Bruce Balick, University of Washington.

Bereits in mittleren Amateurteleskopen ist eine elliptische Ringstruktur erkennbar, umgeben von einem schwächeren Halo (siehe Zeichnung unten). Dafür spricht auch die Klassifikation nach Vorontsov-Velyaminov (IV+IIIb = Ringstruktur + unregelmässige Scheibe mit Spuren einer Ringstruktur).

Beim Halo handelt es sich um die abgestossene Hülle des Roten Riesens, dem Vorgängerstern, welche durch die starke UV-Strahlung des Zentralsterns zum Leuchten angeregt wird. Das Gas erscheint uns visuell bläulich-grün, da die Hauptemission von zweifach ionisiertem Sauerstoff (O III) kommt, dessen stärkste Emissionslinie bei 5007 Angström liegt. Für die elliptische Ringstruktur werden zwei Ursachen verantwortlich gemacht:

NGC 3242
NGC 3242: Jupiters Geist in Hydra; 500/2500 mm Newton + SBIG ST-6; Sternwarte Bülach; © 8. 2. 1997 Stefan Meister
  1. Die Wechselwirkung des Winds des Zentralsterns mit dem Sternwind des Vorgängers: Wenn der schnelle Wind des Zentralsterns auf den langsameren des Vorgängersterns trifft, entsteht eine Schockfront. Sich dort befindende Materie wird angeregt und emittiert Licht. Das Gebiet erscheint uns deshalb heller als die Umgebung.
  2. Modellrechnungen ergaben, dass die auffällige Achsensymmetrie der Ringstruktur vor etwa 4000 Jahren von einem eng um den Zentralstern laufenden Braunen Zwerg verursacht wurde.

Neuere Beobachtungen mit dem Hubble Weltraumteleskop (HST) zeigen im Nebel extrem feine Strukturen, die mit bisherigen Modellen noch nicht gut erklärt werden können. Solche Strukturen wurden auch in anderen Planetarischen Nebeln wie zum Beispiel in NGC 7662 beobachtet.

— 1996, Philipp Reza Heck

«Strasbourg-ESO Catalogue of Galactic Planetary Nebulae» Acker et al., 1992 [141]
BezeichnungenPN G261.0+32.0: NGC 3242, PK 261+32.1, ARO 4, ESO 568-05, VV 57, VV' 98
Rektaszension (J2000.0)10h 24m 46s
Deklination (J2000.0)-18° 38' 38"
Abmessungen 25." (optisch)
Entfernung 0.76 kpc
Radialgeschwindigkeit+4.6 km/s ± 0.6 km/s
Expansionsgeschwindigkeit 20. km/s (O-III), 27.5 km/s (N-II)
Z-Stern BezeichnungenAG82 127, BD -17 3140, GC 14298, GCRV 6542, HD 90255, NSV 4848, PLX 2442, SAO 155965, TD1 14821
Z-Stern Magnitude12.02 mag (B filter), 12.31 mag (V filter)
Z-Stern SpektraltypO(H)
EntdeckerHERSCHEL 1785

Wie findet man den Geist?

Jupiters Geist befindet sich im Sternbild Hydra (Wasserschlange). Um ihn zu finden, geht man am besten vom Stern μ Hydrae aus, denn der PN liegt 1.8 Grad in südlicher Richtung davon. Mit einer scheinbaren Helligkeit von 3.8 mag ist dieser rote Riesenstern von blossem Auge sichtbar. Wenn Sie zum Aufsuchen ein schwach vergrösserndes Okular mit weitem Gesichtsfeld verwenden, sollte die kleine, grünliche Scheibe von NGC 3242 bereits sichtbar sein. Die beste Beobachtungszeit ist Februar bis April.

Hydra: NGC 3242
Karte NGC 3242
Karte mithilfe von SkySafari 6 Pro und STScI Digitized Sky Survey erstellt. [149, 160]

Visuelle Beobachtung

NGC 3242
NGC 3242: Zeichnung; 200mm SCT, 290x; © 1996 Philipp Reza Heck

200 mm Öffnung: Mit einer Deklination von -18.6 Grad steht Jupiters Geist relativ tief. Um ihn unter optimalen Bedingungen zu beobachten, sollte man den Meridiandurchgang abwarten. Die Flächenhelligkeit von NGC 3242 ist sehr gross. Es lohnt sich deshalb über 200fach zu vergrössern. Der Anblick im 20 cm-Teleskop bei 290-fach (7 mm Nagler) ist atemberaubend. Die in der Beschreibung erwähnte an ein menschliches Auge erinnernde elliptische Ringstruktur ist im 20 cm-Reflektor gut erkennbar. Die Ellipse erscheint am SE-Ende heller (siehe Zeichnung des Autors). Wie bei der Planetenbeobachtung ist es auch beim Geist von Jupiter von Vorteil, möglichst lange zu beobachten. Die Chance, während kurzer Augenblicke extremer Luftruhe feine Details zu erkennen, steigt mit der Beobachtungszeit. NGC 3242 ist meines Erachtens nicht nur einer der interessantesten planetarischen Nebel, sondern auch einer, der am leichtesten zu beobachtend ist.

— 1996, Philipp Reza Heck

Quellenangaben

141Strasbourg-ESO Catalogue of Galactic Planetary Nebulae; A. Acker, F. Ochsenbein, B. Stenholm, R. Tylenda, J. Marcout, C. Schohn; European Southern Observatory; ISBN 3-923524-41-2 (1992); cdsarc.unistra.fr/viz-bin/cat/V/84 (2021-02-18)
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
463«Catalogue of one thousand new nebulae and clusters of stars» William Herschel, Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society of London, 1 January 1786; DOI:10.1098/rstl.1786.0027