Globular Cluster Messier 9

Messier 9
Messier 9: Image taken by Hubble Space Telescope [215]

Object Description

Messier 9 is a small, bright globular cluster and was discovered in 1764 together with M 10, M 12 and M 14 within a few nights. M 9 is the smallest cluster of this quartet. The most striking feature is its slightly oval shape and a small curved chain of six stars southwest of the center (see fig. 1). At the moment it is not known to the author whether this star chain belongs to M 9 or is only in the foreground.

M 9 is relatively close to the central bulge of the Milky Way system. The calculated distance is given as about 7500 light years. For comparison: the sun is around 26'000 light years away from the galactic center. The diameter of M 9 is around 60 light years and the total luminosity is estimated to be 60'000 times that of the sun, if one can assume that around half of the light is absorbed by interstellar matter in between. Strong absorption in the north and west suggests that the light is weakened by at least about one magnitude. Not surprising, since the sharply delimited dark cloud B 62, which appears to be part of a larger complex of interstellar matter, is located close to M 9 in a south-westerly direction. The globular cluster moves away from us at a radial speed of about 225 km/s. [4]

«Revised New General Catalogue and Index Catalogue» Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke, 2021 [277]
DesignationNGC 6333
TypeGCL (VIII)
Right Ascension17h 19m 11.8s
Declination-18° 30' 57"
Diameter12.00 arcmin
Visual magnitude7.8 mag
Dreyer Descriptionglobular, B, L, R, eCM, rrr, st 14
IdentificationM 9, GCL 60, ESO 587-SC5

Finder Chart

The globular cluster Messier 9 is located in the constellation Serpent Bearer (Ophiuchus), roughly in the middle between the 2.43 mag bright star Sabik (η Ophiuchi) and the 4.39 mag bright star ξ Ophiuchi. It is best seen between May and July.

Chart Messier 9
Chart created using SkySafari 6 Pro and STScI Digitized Sky Survey. [149, 160]

References

4«Burnham's Celestial Handbook: An Observer's Guide to the Universe Beyond the Solar System» by Robert Burnham; Dover Publications, Inc.; Voume I: ISBN 0-486-23567-X; Volume II: ISBN 0-486-23568-8; Volume III: ISBN 0-486-23673-0
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
215Explore - The Night Sky | Hubble’s Messier Catalog; nasa.gov/content/goddard/hubble-s-messier-catalog (2020-12-31)
277«Historische Deep-Sky Kataloge» von Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke; klima-luft.de/steinicke (2021-02-17)

Kugelsternhaufen Messier 9

Objektbeschreibung

M9
Messier 9: Aufnahme des Hubble Weltraumteleskops [215]

Messier 9 ist ein kleiner heller Kugelsternhaufen und wurde im Jahre 1764 zusammen mit M 10, M 12 und M 14 innerhalb weniger Nächte entdeckt. M 9 ist der kleinste Haufen dieses Quartetts. Das auffallendste Merkmal ist seine leicht ovale Form und eine kleine geschwungene Kette von sechs Sternen südwestlich vom Zentrum gelegen (vgl. Abb. 1). Zur Zeit ist dem Autor noch nicht bekannt, ob diese Sternenkette zu M 9 gehört oder sich lediglich im Vordergrund befindet.

M 9 liegt relativ nahe zur zentralen Ausbuchtung des Milchstrassensystems. Die berechnete Distanz wird mit etwa 7500 Lichtjahren angegeben. Zum Vergleich: die Sonne liegt rund 26'000 Lichtjahre vom galaktischen Zentrum entfernt. Der Durchmesser von M 9 beträgt rund 60 Lichtjahre und die gesamte Leuchtkraft wird auf das 60'000fache der Sonne geschätzt, wenn man davon ausgehen kann, dass rund die Hälfte des Lichts von dazwischenliegender interstellarer Materie absorbiert wird. Starke Absorption im Norden und Westen lässt darauf schliessen, dass das Licht mindestens um etwa eine Magnitude geschwächt wird. Nicht verwunderlich, da nahe zu M 9 in südwestlicher Richtung die scharf begrenzte Dunkelwolke B 62 befindet, welche Teil eines grösseren Komplexes interstellarer Materie zu sein scheint. Der Kugelsternhaufen bewegt sich mit einer Radialgeschwindigkeit von etwa 225 km/s von uns weg. [4]

— 1999, Bernd Nies

«The Complete New General Catalogue and Index Catalogue of Nebulae and Star Clusters» von J.L.E. Dreyer, nachbearbeitet 1988 von Roger W. Sinnott [142]. Koordinaten in B2000.0.
Name Typ RA [hm] Dec [dm] Const ⌀ ['] vMag Beschreibung
NGC 6333Gb17 19.2-18 31Oph9.37.9glob. cl. , B, L, R, eCM, rrr, st 14; = M9

Auffindtipp für M 9

Der Kugelsternhaufen Messier 9 befindet sich im Sternbild Schlangenträger (Ophiuchus), ungefähr in der Mitte zwischen dem 2.43 mag hellen Stern Sabik (η Ophiuchi) und dem 4.39 mag hellen Stern ξ Ophiuchi. Er ist in den Monaten Mai bis Juli am besten zu beobachten.

Karte
Karte mithilfe von SkySafari 6 Pro [149] und STScI Digitized Sky Survey [160] erstellt.

Creative Commons License Sofern keine anderen Quellen, Autoren oder Fotografen genannt werden, unterliegt diese Webseite der Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.