Galaxy Messier 85

Messier 85
Messier 85: Messier 85 (middle) mit NGC 4394 (left), IC 3292 (right) and MCG 3-32-28 (below M 85). Sloan Digitized Sky Survey [147]

Object Description

The galaxy M 85 was discovered by Pierre Méchain on March 4, 1781 and visited by Charles Messier on March 18. Messier wrote about M 85: «Nebula without a star, below and next to the ear of the Virgin, between the two stars 11 and 14 of the hair of Berenice, according to the catalog of Flamsteed: This nebula is very faint. M. Méchain had determined his position on March 4, 1781.» Here Messier apparently made a mistake and meant the star 24 Comae Berenices instead of 14 or it was a misprint in the «La Connoissance» of 1784. In the same night he came across numerous other «nebulae without a star» in the Virgo cluster: M 84, M 86, M 87, M 88, M 89, M 90 and M 91 [281]

Physical Properties

Messier 85
Messier 85: Image taken with the Hubble Space Telescope [215]

In the case of M 85, there is still no full agreement as to whether it is an elliptical or a lenticular galaxy. Lenticular galaxies have properties of both elliptical and spiral galaxies and are sometimes called «armless spiral galaxies». M 85 interacts with two neighboring galaxies: spiral galaxy NGC 4394 and elliptical galaxy MCG 3-32-28 (not MCG 3-32-38 as in the ESA/Hubble Press Release). The galaxies are members of the Virgo Galaxy Cluster and are about 60 million light years away from Earth.

About four to seven billion years ago, M 85 appears to have merged with another galaxy. M 85 contains about 400 billion stars, most of which are very old. In the central region, however, there are predominantly young stars, less than three billion years old. These could have come from a recent outbreak of star formation. There is a supermassive black hole in the core of M 85. In 2006 a supernova occurred northeast of the core. [215]

«Catalogue of Principal Galaxies (PGC)», Paturel et al. 1989 [144]
NameRA [hms]Dec [dms]mTypeDim [']Btot [mag]HRV [km/s]PA [°]
IC 329212 24 48.2+18 11 47L.5 x .415.5
NGC 4382, M 8512 25 24.6+18 11 26L M7.4 x 5.910.0722
NGC 439412 25 56.0+18 12 54SBRM3.4 x 3.211.7920

Finder Chart

The galaxy M 85 is located in the constellation Coma Berenices (Hair of Berenices) between the stars 24 Comae Berenices and 11 Comae Berenices, about 1 ° 10 'east of 11 Comae Berenices.

Chart M 85
Chart created using SkySafari 6 Pro and STScI Digitized Sky Survey. [149, 160]

References

144Catalogue of Principal Galaxies (PGC); Paturel G., Fouque P., Bottinelli L., Gouguenheim L.; Astron. Astrophys. Suppl. Ser. 80, 299 (1989); cdsarc.unistra.fr/viz-bin/cat/VII/119 (2021-02-18)
147Aladin Lite; aladin.u-strasbg.fr/AladinLite (2020-12-23)
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
215Explore - The Night Sky | Hubble’s Messier Catalog; nasa.gov/content/goddard/hubble-s-messier-catalog (2020-12-31)
281«Catalogue Nébuleuses et des Amas D'Étoiles» Observées à Paris, par M. Messier, à l'Observatoire de la Marine, hôtel de Clugni, rue des Mathurins. «Connoissance des temps ou connoissance des mouvements célestes, pour l'année bissextile 1784 » Page 227; gallica.bnf.fr/ark:/12148/bpt6k6514280n/f235 (2021-02-21)

Galaxie Messier 85

Messier 85
Messier 85: Messier 85 (mitte) mit NGC 4394 (links), IC 3292 (rechts) und MCG 3-32-28 (unterhalb von M 85). Sloan Digitized Sky Survey [147]

Geschichte

Die Galaxie M 85 wurde am 4. März 1781 von Pierre Méchain entdeckt und am 18. März von Charles Messier aufgesucht. Messier schrieb zu M 85: «Nebel ohne Stern, unterhalb und neben dem Ohr der Jungfrau, zwischen den beiden Sternen 11 und 14 des Haares der Berenike, nach Katalog von Flamsteed: Dieser Nebel ist sehr schwach. M. Méchain hatte seine Position am 4. März 1781 bestimmt.» Hier verschrieb sich Messier offenbar und meinte den Stern 24 Comae Berenices statt 14 oder es handelt sich um einen Druckfehler in der «La Connoissance» von 1784. In derselben Nacht stiess er noch auf zahlreiche andere «Nebel ohne Stern» im Virgohaufen: M 84, M 86, M 87, M 88, M 89, M 90 und M 91. [281]

Physikalische Eigenschaften

Messier 85
Messier 85: Aufnahme mit dem Hubble Weltraumteleskop [215]

Bei M 85 ist man sich noch nicht ganz einig, ob es um eine elliptische oder eine linsenförmige Galaxie handelt. Linsenförmige Galaxien haben Eigenschaften sowohl von elliptischen wie auch von Spiralgalaxien und werden manchmal auch «armlose Spiralgalaxien» genannt. M 85 interagiert mit zwei benachbarten Galaxien: Spiralgalaxie NGC 4394 und elliptische Galaxie MCG 3-32-28 (nicht MCG 3-32-38 wie im ESA/Hubble Press Release). Die Galaxien sind Mitglieder des Virgo-Galaxienhaufens und befinden sich in etwa 60 Millionen Lichtjahren Distanz zur Erde.

Vor etwa vier bis sieben Milliarden Jahren scheint sich M 85 mit einer anderen Galaxie vereinigt zu haben. M 85 enthält etwa 400 Milliarden Sterne, wovon die meisten von ihnen sehr alt sind. In der Zentralregion befinden sich jedoch vorwiegend junge Sterne, weniger als drei Milliarden Jahre alt. Diese könnten von einem letzten Ausbruch an Sternentstehung stammen. Im Kern von M 85 befindet sich ein supermassives Schwarzes Loch. In 2006 ereignete sich nordöstlich vom Kern eine Supernova. [215]

«Catalogue of Principal Galaxies (PGC)», Paturel et al. 1989 [144]
NameRA [hms]Dec [dms]mTypeDim [']Btot [mag]HRV [km/s]PA [°]
IC 329212 24 48.2+18 11 47L.5 x .415.5
NGC 4382, M 8512 25 24.6+18 11 26L M7.4 x 5.910.0722
NGC 439412 25 56.0+18 12 54SBRM3.4 x 3.211.7920

Auffindkarte

Die Galaxie M 85 befindet sich im Sternbild Coma Berenices (Haar der Berenike) zwischen den Sternen 24 Comae Berenices und 11 Comae Berenices, etwa 1° 10' östlich von 11 Comae Berenices.

Karte M 85
Karte mithilfe von SkySafari 6 Pro und STScI Digitized Sky Survey erstellt. [149, 160]

Quellenangaben

144Catalogue of Principal Galaxies (PGC); Paturel G., Fouque P., Bottinelli L., Gouguenheim L.; Astron. Astrophys. Suppl. Ser. 80, 299 (1989); cdsarc.unistra.fr/viz-bin/cat/VII/119 (2021-02-18)
147Aladin Lite; aladin.u-strasbg.fr/AladinLite (2020-12-23)
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
215Explore - The Night Sky | Hubble’s Messier Catalog; nasa.gov/content/goddard/hubble-s-messier-catalog (2020-12-31)
281«Catalogue Nébuleuses et des Amas D'Étoiles» Observées à Paris, par M. Messier, à l'Observatoire de la Marine, hôtel de Clugni, rue des Mathurins. «Connoissance des temps ou connoissance des mouvements célestes, pour l'année bissextile 1784 » Page 227; gallica.bnf.fr/ark:/12148/bpt6k6514280n/f235 (2021-02-21)