Galaxies Messier 106, NGC 4217

History

The galaxy M 106 was discovered on July 17, 1781 by Pierre Méchain, a good friend of Charles Messier. Unfortunately, his discovery came after Messier submitted his list of for publication in the 1784 Connoissance des Temps. The nebula might have been included in a later publication of Messier's catalog, but there was none. This discovery was therefore unknown to Wilhelm Herschel when he came across this galaxy on March 9, 1788. This was included in the "General Catalog" by his son John in 1830 and later by Dreyer as NGC 4258 in his "New General Catalog of Nebulae and Star Clusters" published in 1888. It was not until 1947 that Helen Sawyer identified Hogg NGC 4258 with Méchain's discovery and added it to the Messier catalog along with M 105 and M 107. [196]

M 106
M 106: Galaxy M 106 and companions NGC 4248 (left). Top left galaxy pair NGC 4231/2; Meade Schmidt-Newton 254mm f/4, Canon EOS 20Da; ISO 1600, 18 x 5 min; Oberes Schlierental, Obwalden; © 6. 4. 2007 Eduard von Bergen
M 106
M 106: Galaxy M 106 in Canes Venatici; 500 mm Cassegrain 3625 mm f/7.2; SBIG STL11K; 70+30+30+30 min LRGB; Bernese Highlands; © 2011 Radek Chromik

Physical Properties of M 106

Messier 106
Messier 106: Combination of recordings with the Hubble Space Telescope and terrestrial telescopes [215]

The image shown in Fig. 3 is a combination of images taken with the Hubble Space Telescope (central region) and earth-based 12.5 and 20 inch telescopes from Robert Gendler in New Mexico. It shows one of the most striking features of the M 106: an additional pair of arms. Most spiral galaxies only have one pair of arms, but M 106 has an additional set that can be seen here as scraps of red gas. In contrast to the other arms, these two additional arms are made out of hot gas rather than stars. Astronomers attribute these ghostly arms to the supermassive black hole at the center of the galaxy. The extra arms appear to be an indirect result of the violent swirling of matter around the black hole. Heliocentric velocities measured in the last 20 years range from 416 km/s to 456 km/s and distances from 6.6 Mpc to 7.6 Mpc (21 to 24 million light years) [145, 215]

«Revised New General Catalogue and Index Catalogue» Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke, 2021 [277]
DesignationNGC 4258
TypeGx (SBbc)
Right Ascension12h 18m 57.8s
Declination+47° 18' 25"
Diameter18.60 × 7.2 arcmin
Photographic (blue) magnitude9.1 mag
Visual magnitude8.4 mag
Surface brightness13.6 mag·arcmin-2
Position angle150°
Redshift0.001494
Distance derived from z6.3 Mpc
Metric Distance7.44 Mpc
Dreyer DescriptionvB, vL, vmE 0°, sbMBN
IdentificationM 106, UGC 7353, MCG 8-22-104, CGCG 243-67, VV 448, CGCG 244-3

Other Galaxies in the Area

NGC 4217, 4226
NGC 4217, 4226: Edge-On Galaxies NGC 4217 and NGC 4226 (left). Section of the Sloan Digitized Sky Survey [147]

The galaxy NGC 4217 was discovered by Wilhelm Herschel on April 10, 1788. It has an angular extent of about 5.2 x 1.5 arc minutes and an apparent magnitude of 12 magnitudes. We see it directly from the edge, which is why it is not entirely clear whether it is a classic spiral galaxy or a bar-shaped spiral galaxy. The heliocentric velocities measured in the last 20 years by means of spectral shifts range from 1000 km/s to 1031 km/s. Distances range from 17 Mpc to 20 Mpc (55 to 65 million light years). [145, 196]

NGC 4226 was discovered by John Herschel on March 19, 1828. With an angular extent of about 1.0 x 0.5 arc minutes, it is quite small and is only 14 magnitudes bright. The galaxy appears to have a bar-spiral structure. In the last 20 years, various measurements have been made, which showed heliocentric speeds of 7238 km/s to 7260 km/s. The resulting distances range from 104 Mpc to 121 Mpc (339 to 394 million light years). [145, 196]

NGC 4231, NGC 4232
NGC 4231, NGC 4232: Galaxy pair NGC 4231 (top) and NGC 4332 (bottom). Color-matched excerpt from the Sloan Digitized Sky Survey [147]

The two galaxies NGC 4231 and NGC 4232 were discovered by Wilhelm Herschel on March 9, 1788. With an angular extent of about 1.5 arc minutes, they are quite small and with a brightness of 15 magnitudes they are very faint. NGC 4231 is a spiral galaxy of the morphological type SA0, moving away at a speed of about 7400 km/s and lying at a distance of about 107 Mpc to 109 Mpc (349 to 355 million light years). NGC 4232 is a bar spiral of the morphological type SBb. It is somewhat closer to us at a distance of 104 Mpc to 107 Mpc (339 to 349 million light years) and is moving away at around 7200 km/s. [145, 196]

NGC 4248
NGC 4248: Color-adjusted section from the Sloan Digitized Sky Survey [147]

NGC 4248 was also discovered by Wilhelm Herschel on the same day. It is an irregular galaxy that we see from the edge. Measured heliocentric speeds range from 445 km/s to 486 km/s and distances from 7.2 Mpc to 8.9 Mpc. It is therefore in the immediate vicinity of M 106, which is probably responsible for the appearance of NGC 4248 through gravitational interactions. [145, 196]

«Revised New General Catalogue and Index Catalogue», «Historically Corrected New General Catalogue», Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke, 2021 [277]
NameRADecTypeBmagVmagDimDreyer DescriptionIdentification
NGC 4217 12 15 50.6+47 05 24Gx (Sb)12.011.25.20 × 1.5pF, L, mE 45°, ** n, p of 2UGC 7282, MCG 8-22-87, CGCG 243-53
NGC 4226 12 16 26.3+47 01 32Gx (Sa/P)14.413.51.00 × 0.5F, S, lE, f of 2UGC 7297, MCG 8-22-90, CGCG 243-57
NGC 4231 12 16 48.9+47 27 29Gx (S0-a)14.513.61.20 × 1.1vF, vS, n of D nebUGC 7304, MCG 8-22-94, CGCG 243-60, NPM1G +47.0223
NGC 4232 12 16 49.0+47 26 20Gx (SBb/P)14.413.61.30 × 0.7vF, vS, s of D nebUGC 7303, MCG 8-22-93, CGCG 243-59, IRAS 12143+4743
NGC 4248 12 17 50.4+47 24 33Gx (SBb)13.112.52.90 × 1.2vF, S, pmE, psbMUGC 7335, MCG 8-22-99, CGCG 244-1, CGCG 243-64

Finder Chart

M 106 is located in the constellation Canes Venatici about halfway between the stars Chara (β Canum Venaticorum) and Phecda (γ Ursae Majoris). It is circumpolar for Central Europe and is highest in the night sky from February to July.

Chart M 106
Chart created using SkySafari 6 Pro and STScI Digitized Sky Survey. [149, 160]

References

145SIMBAD astronomical database; simbad.u-strasbg.fr/simbad
147Aladin Lite; aladin.u-strasbg.fr/AladinLite (2020-12-23)
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
196Celestial Atlas by Curtney Seligman; cseligman.com/text/atlas.htm (2020-12-28)
215Explore - The Night Sky | Hubble’s Messier Catalog; nasa.gov/content/goddard/hubble-s-messier-catalog (2020-12-31)
277«Historische Deep-Sky Kataloge» von Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke; klima-luft.de/steinicke (2021-02-17)

Galaxie Messier 106

Objektbeschreibung

M 106
M 106 und Begleitgalaxie NGC 4248 (links). Ganz links oben das Galaxienpaar NGC 4231/2: Meade Schmidt-Newton 254mm f/4, Canon EOS 20Da, ISO 1600, 18 x 5 min, 6. 4. 2007, Eduard von Bergen, Oberes Schlierental 1450 m ü. M.

Die Galaxie M 106 wurde am 17. Juli 1781 von Pierre Méchain, einem guten Freund von Charles Messier entdeckt. Leider kam seine Entdeckung nachdem Messier seine Liste von zur Veröffentlichung in der «Connoissance des Temps» von 1784 eingereicht hatte. Möglicherweise wäre der Nebel in einer späteren Publikation von Messiers Katalog aufgenommen worden, doch es gab keine. Wilhelm Herschel war deshalb diese Entdeckung unbekannt, als er am 9. März 1788 auf diese Galaxie stiess. Diese wurde 1830 von seinem Sohn John in den «General Catalogue» und später von Dreyer als NGC 4258 in seinen 1888 erschienenen «New General Catalogue of Nebulae and Star Clusters» aufgenommen. Erst 1947 identifizierte Helen Sawyer Hogg NGC 4258 mit Méchains Entdeckung und fügte diese zusammen mit M 105 und M 107 dem Messier-Katalog hinzu. [196]

M 106
M 106: Kombination aus Aufnahmen mit dem Hubble Space Telescope und erdgebundenen Teleskopen. [215]

Die in Abb. 2 gezeigte Aufnahme ist eine Kombination aus Aufnahmen mit dem Hubble Weltraumteleskop (Zentralregion) und erdgebundenen 12.5" und 20" Teleskopen von Robert Gendler in New Mexico. Sie zeigt eines der auffälligsten Merkmale von M 106: ein zusätzliches Armpaar. Die meisten Spiralgalaxien haben nur ein Paar Arme, aber M 106 hat einen zusätzlichen Satz, der hier als rote Gasfetzen zu sehen sind. Im Gegensatz zu den anderen Armen bestehen diese beiden zusätzlichen Arme mehr aus heissem Gas als aus Sternen. Astronomen führen diese geisterhaften Arme auf das supermassive Schwarze Loch im Zentrum der Galaxie zurück. Die zusätzlichen Arme scheinen eine indirekte Folge des heftigen Aufwirbelns der Materie um das Schwarze Loch zu sein. In den letzten 20 Jahren gemessene heliozentrische Geschwindigkeiten reichen von 416 km/s bis 456 km/s und Entfernungen 6.6 Mpc bis 7.6 Mpc (21 bis 24 Millionen Lichtjahre) [145, 215]

M 106
Messier 106: 500 mm Cassegrain 3625 mm f/7.2; SBIG STL11K; 70+30+30+30 min LRGB; Sternwarte Lischerli, Ottenleuebad, Berner Oberland; © 2011 Radek Chromik
NGC 4248
Edge-On Galaxie NGC 4217 und NGC 4226 (links). Ausschnitt aus dem Sloan Digitized Sky Survey [147]

Die Galaxie NGC 4217 wurde am 10. April 1788 von Wilhelm Herschel entdeckt. Sie hat eine Winkelausdehnung von etwa 5.2 x 1.5 Bogenminuten und eine scheinbare Helligkeit von 12 Magnituden. Wir sehen sie direkt von der Kante, weshalb nicht ganz eindeutig ist, ob es sich um eine klassische Spiralgalaxie oder um eine Balkenspiralgalaxie handelt. Die in den letzten 20 Jahren mittels Spektralverschiebung gemessenen heliozentrische Geschwindigiketen reichen von 1000 km/s bis 1031 km/s. Entfernungen reichen von 17 Mpc bis 20 Mpc (55 bis 65 Millionen Lichtjahre). [145, 196]

NGC 4226 wurde am 19. März 1828 von John Herschel entdeckt. Sie ist mit einer Winkelausdehnung von etwa 1.0 x 0.5 Bogenminuten recht klein und ist nur 14 Magnituden hell. Die Galaxie scheint eine Balkenspiralstruktur aufzuweisen. In den letzten 20 Jahren wurden verschiedene Messungen vorgenommen, welche heliozentrische Geschwindigkeiten von 7238 km/s bis 7260 km/s ergaben. Die daraus ermittelten Distanzen reichen von 104 Mpc bis 121 Mpc (339 bis 394 Millionen Lichtjahre). [145, 196]

NGC 4231, NGC 4232
Galaxienpaar NGC 4231 (oben) und NGC 4332 (unten). Farblich angepasster Ausschnitt aus dem Sloan Digitized Sky Survey [147]

Die beiden Galaxien NGC 4231 und NGC 4232 wurden am 9. März 1788 von Wilhelm Herschel entdeckt. Sie sind mit einer Winkelausdehnung von etwa 1.5 Bogenminuten recht klein und mit einer Helligkeit von 15 Magnituden recht lichtschwach. NGC 4231 ist eine Spiralgalaxie des morphologischen Typs SA0, entfernt sich mit einer Geschwindigkeit von etwa 7400 km/s und liegt in einer Entfernung von etwa 107 Mpc bis 109 Mpc (349 bis 355 Millionen Lichtjahre). NGC 4232 ist eine Balkenspirale des morphologischen Typs SBb. Sie liegt uns mit einer Entfernung von 104 Mpc bis 107 Mpc (339 bis 349 Millionen Lichtjahre) etwas näher und entfernt sich mit rund 7200 km/s. [145, 196]

NGC 4248
Galaxie NGC 4248. Farblich angepasster Ausschnitt aus dem Sloan Digitized Sky Survey [147]

Auch NGC 4248 wurde am gleichen Tag von Wilhelm Herschel entdeckt. Es handelt sich um eine irreguläre Galaxie, welche wir von der Kante sehen. Gemessene heliozentrische Geschwindigkeiten reichen von 445 km/s bis 486 km/s und Distanzen von 7.2 Mpc bis 8.9 Mpc. Sie liegt somit in unmittelbarer Nachbarschaft zu M 106, welche vermutlich durch gravitative Wechselwirkungen für das Aussehen von NGC 4248 verantwortlich ist. [145, 196]

— 19. 3. 2021, Bernd Nies

«The Complete New General Catalogue and Index Catalogue of Nebulae and Star Clusters» von J.L.E. Dreyer, nachbearbeitet 1988 von Roger W. Sinnott [142]. Koordinaten in B2000.0.
Name Typ RA [hm] Dec [dm] Const ⌀ ['] vMag Beschreibung
NGC 4217Gx12 15.8+47 06CVn5.512.pF, L, mE 45deg , ** n, p of 2
NGC 4226Gx12 16.4+47 02CVn1.314.F, S, lE, f of 2
NGC 4231Gx12 16.8+47 27CVn1.415.vF, vS, n of Dneb
NGC 4232Gx12 16.8+47 26CVn1.515.vF, vS, s of Dneb
NGC 4248Gx12 17.8+47 25CVn3.012.6vF, S, pmE, psbM
NGC 4258Gx12 19.0+47 18CVn18.28.3vB, vL, vmE 0deg , sbMBN; = M106

Auffindkarte

M 106 befindet sich im Sternbild Canes Venatici (Jagdhunde) etwa auf halber Strecke zwischen den Sternen Chara (β Canum Venaticorum) und Phecda (γ Ursae Majoris). Sie ist für Mitteleuropa zirkumpolar und steht in den Monaten Februar bis Juli am höchsten am Nachthimmel.

Karte
Karte mithilfe von SkySafari 6 Pro und STScI Digitized Sky Survey erstellt. [149, 160]

Creative Commons License Sofern keine anderen Quellen, Autoren oder Fotografen genannt werden, unterliegt diese Webseite der Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.